Minimum Wage California

This is a great to the point write-up on minimum wage details in California. Links to the original write-up mentioned below.

California has more complicated minimum wage laws than any other state. In 2020, twenty-eight cities and counties will have higher minimum wage rates than the state requires.  We have created this guide for your convenience but strongly urge you to ensure your business is in compliance with any minimum wage laws that may apply by confirming with your local entity.

State Minimum Wage

Effective 1/1/2020

Employer Size20192020
Minimum Wage25 or Less Employees$11.00$12.00
 26 or More Employees$12.00$13.00
Minimum Tipped Wage25 or Less EmployeesProhibitedProhibited
 26 or More EmployeesProhibitedProhibited

Overtime Pay in California

The general overtime provisions are that a nonexempt employee must be paid at least one and one-half times their regular rate of pay for any hours worked over eight hours in any workday or more than 40 hours in any workweek. Eight hours of labor constitutes a day’s work, and employment beyond eight hours in any workday or more than six days in any workweek requires the employee to be compensated for the overtime at not less than:

  1. One and one-half times the employee’s regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of eight hours up to and including 12 hours in any workday, and for the first eight hours worked on the seventh consecutive day of work in a workweek; and
  2. Double the employee’s regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 12 hours in any workday and for all hours worked in excess of eight hours on the seventh consecutive day of work in a workweek.

There are, however, a number of exemptions from the overtime law. There are also a number of exceptions to the general overtime law stated above. An “exception” means that overtime is paid to a certain classification of employees on a basis that differs from that stated above. To read more about Overtime in California please visit the California Department of Industry Relations website.

Exempt Employees and the Minimum Wage

Exempt employees in California generally earn a minimum salary of no less than twice the state minimum wage for full-time work. The increase in the state minimum wage will also cause an increase in the minimum salary requirement for exempt employees. To find out more information on Exempt employees in California, please visit the California Department of Industry Relations website.

City and County Minimum Wages (as of 12/11/18)

LocalityCurrent Minimum WageChangeEffective Date of Change
Alameda$13.50$15.00July 1st, 2020
Belmont$13.50$15.00January 1st, 2020
Berkeley$15.59TBAAnnually adjusted for inflation on July 1st
Cupertino$15.00$15.35January 1st, 2020
El Cerrito$15.00$15.37January 1st, 2020
Emeryville (Small employer 55 or Fewer)$16.30TBAAnnually adjusted for inflation on July 1st
Emeryville (Large employer 56 or More$16.30TBAAnnually adjusted for inflation on July 1st
Los Altos$15.00$15.40January 1st, 2020
Los Angeles (Small Employer 25 or Fewer)$13.25$14.25July 1st, 2020
Los Angeles (Large Employer 26 or More)$14.25$15.00July 1st, 2020
Los Angeles County (Small employer 25 or fewer)$13.25$14.25July 1st, 2020
Los Angeles County (Large employer 26 or More)$14.25$15.00July 1st, 2020
Malibu (Small Employer 25 or Fewer)$13.25$14.25July 1st, 2020
Malibu (Large Employer 26 or More)$14.25$15.00July 1st, 2020
Milpitas$15.00TBAJuly 1st, 2020
Mountain View$15.65$16.05January 1st, 2020
Oakland$13.80$14.14January 1st. 2020
Palo Alto$15.00$15.40January 1st, 2020
Pasadena (Small Employer 25 or Fewer) and Non-profits$13.25$14.25July 1st, 2020
Pasadena (Large Employer 26 or More)$14.25$15.00July 1st, 2020
Redwood$13.50$15.38January 1st, 2020
Richmond$15.00TBAJanuary 1st, 2020
San Diego$12.00$13.00January 1st, 2020
San Francisco$15.59TBAAnnually adjusted for inflation on July 1st
San Jose$15.00$15.25January 1st, 2020
San Leandro$14.00$15.00Annually adjusted for inflation on July 1st
San Mateo – For-profits$15.00$15.38January 1st, 2020
San Mateo – Nonprofits$13.50$15.38January 1st, 2020
Santa Clara$15.00$15.40January 1st, 2020
Santa Monica (Small Employer 25 or Fewer)$13.25$14.25July 1st, 2020
Santa Monica (Large Employer 26 or More)$14.25$15.00July 1st, 2020
Sunnyvale$15.65$16.05January 1st, 2019

Nothing in this article and/or information is intended or should be construed, as legal, tax or investment advice, or a legal opinion.

Written by Jessica Miles. First appeared in onpay.com

Source

https://help.onpay.com/hc/en-us/articles/360020567152

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.